CD Reviews

Back to my CD reviews page

Michael English - Take Me Home

Michael English - Take Me Home
  • 1. Tuam Beat
  • 2. Crazy Over You (Feat. Cliona Hagan)
  • 3. Take Me Home
  • 4. Isle Of Innisfree
  • 5. Baby Don’t Leave Me In The Night Time
  • 6. Say Adios
  • 7. Charley Pride Medley
  • 8. Head Over Heels
  • 9. Song For Ireland
  • 10. If You Love Me, Let Me Know
  • 11. Come On Eileen
  • 12. Cowboys And Angels
  • 13. Tall Order Baby

Released 2017, this album has a great mix of Country music and Irish music. Both cover songs and songs written by Michael himself. Michael is a talented singer and song writer from Ireland. I'm a very big fan of his singing/voice as well as impressed by all the good songs he has written.

He has released several albums before, and there is also a new album coming out in November 2021 called "Music In My Heart" (I will be getting that one as well). I can recommend all his albums. And also his DVD release from a couple of years back called "Michael English Live From INEC, Killarney".

Some of my favorite songs in this album are actually written by Michael himself: "Crazy Over You" (which is a beautiful duet with Cliona Hagan), "Say Adios" and "Cowboys And Angels". In this album he also wrote the songs "Take Me Home" and "Head Over Heels". My favorite cover songs (originally by other artists) on this CD are "If You Love Me, Let Me Know" (Olivia Newton-John, also covered by Elvis Presley), "Come On Eileen" (Dexy's Midnight Runners) and "Tuam Beat" (Pádraig Stevens/The Saw Doctors).

I really like the Spanish styled melody in the song "Say Adios". And "Cowboys And Angels" is a beautiful Country ballad with some great lyrics! Speaking of ballads (and lyrics), "Crazy Over You" is another well-written song by Michael that features two really great voices: Cliona Hagan and of course Michael himself. I'm a big fan of both!

For more information about Michael, please visit his website: There you can also buy his CD's and DVD if you are interested.

Meikel - November 2021.

Short audio sample of "Say Adios"

Back to my CD reviews page